A Rich History
On May 10, 1788, a tract of land containing 236 acres plus allowances and situated about one mile east of the present town of Hickory was patented to one Matthew Hillis, and the patent name given to this tract was “Mount Pleasant”. At that time, the area comprised within the present Township of Mount Pleasant was an almost unbroken wilderness. Quite a number of people had already located here, but the clearing of the forests had only begun. However, the elevation of the land, the richness of the soil and the excellent drainage provided by Chartiers Creek, Raccoon Creek and Cross Creek had attracted a good class of settlers.